Weekend Recipes

We love to get Bountiful Baskets and this was a pick up week for us! The kitchen was too messy at pickup time to get a box picture, but our basket included:

  • Romaine Lettuce
  • Celery
  • Baby bell peppers
  • Summer Squash
  • Cucumbers
  • Carrots
  • TONS of russet potatoes
  • Roma tomatoes
  • Papaya
  • Cherries
  • Plums

Such a great selection this week!

The papaya will likely be dried for snacks since none of us are very fond of it raw. Dried, however, is another story! Everyone loves that!

The cherries are some of the most beautiful, tasty, juicy cherries that we’ve had this season. We pitted all of them and keep them in a produce container in the fridge. They last 3 or 4 days before getting mushy, but are usually eaten long before then!

IMG_1174

The plums and baby bells go into bowls on the bottom fridge shelf, where the toddler can reach them and serve herself a snack. She adores being independent and getting her own snacks and I love that she’s picking fruits & veggies!

IMG_1176 IMG_1175

Everything else goes into plans for dinners for the week. I have a big head of broccoli and a big head of cauliflower left from last week. Add in some proteins and a box of pasta, and the planning is done!

Here’s what we’re eating:

Summer Pasta – No recipe yet for this one. I’ll have to get some photos and make notes as I make it so you can get a glimpse of this! I’ll use the roma tomatoes, summer squash, broccoli, and carrots. I’ll likely toss in some peas from the freezer at the last moment as well. All the veggies get sauteed in lots of garlic and onions and olive oil. After the pasta is cooked, it’s tossed in the veggies and oil, with just enough pasta water to get it all to come together into beautiful dish. A little parmesan on top and dinner is done!

Turkey Taco Lettuce Wraps from Cooking Classy – I’ll use the outer leaves of the romaine for the lettuce cups and I have some onion in the cupboard. Can’t wait to try this one! I love all the Cooking Classy recipes we’ve tried so I expect this will be a hit as well. I might do some cauliflower rice to round this out.

Chicken & Broccoli Meatloaf from Martha Stewart – I’ll be using ground turkey (can you tell it was on sale?) and the broccoli from the fridge. It’s going to be served with baked or mashed potatoes and either steamed broccoli (if there’s any left) or cucumber salad. It’s too hot to actually use the oven so everything gets slightly altered to be made on the grill. The meatloaf will get made in a muffin tin for individual servings and so it bakes evenly on the grill. The potatoes bake nicely on the grill but mashed is nearly as easy.

Skinny Salmon Burgers from Skinny Mom – We’ll skip the buns and serve them with either a fresh green salad or grilled romaine hearts. If we’ve used enough of the outer leaves of the romain, I’ll grill the heart. If not, we’ll eat it as a green salad with a basic vinaigrette. Probably with some grilled french fries on the side. Really yummy with homemade honey mustard dipping sauce.

Grilled chicken thighs – No recipe, but super basic. I got a family pack of chicken thighs for 99 cents a pound! They’re currently marinating in a lemon herb dressing and will go on the grill tonight. I’ll do some grilled potato slices with them and either cucumber salad or carrots.

We’ll have at least one night of leftovers and we usually do a night of breakfast for dinner or a quick hash.

I’m so excited for food this week! It’s a lot of fun to get a basket of assorted fruits and veggies and get creative finding ways to put them together. When I buy all the produce myself, I tend to stick to the same recipes and basic few dishes that I’m used to. This pushes me out of my comfort zone and introduces me to

Leave a Reply

